Learning Pathways

Students are expected to continue their subjects into a second year of study (A2). In order to do this they must achieve in the subject, meet deadlines and show commitment through 95% attendance to each course.

Students are expected to study three courses, Information Advice and Guidance and Extended Project as a minimum expectation. Any student wishing to study medicine at university may study 4 AS subjects in Year 12.

Years 12 and 13

Curriculum offer 1 – students with 5 A*–C with English and maths

Students are expected to study three subjects from the five blocks, over the two year period.

A Levels

What are A Levels?

AS/A2 Levels provide a route to University giving students excellent independent study and research skills. A Levels are assessed at the end of the two year course, by examination.

A Levels are academic qualifications which require the ability for in-depth study and extended research. To study A Levels you will need five GCSEs at grade C or above and at least a grade B in the subjects you wish to take for A Level.

Mock examinations will be sat in the summer of year 12, with the results of these determining continuation into year 13.


What are BTECs?

BTECs are vocational qualifications that provide a more practical, hands on approach to learning and skill development alongside a key theoretical background.

BTECs continue to be developed and updated for industry requirements and in response to the needs of learners. This ensures that learners gain maximum benefit from their work whilst qualifying. This could be in readiness for the workplace or continued study at the next level, whether in an academic environment or a more specialist vocational area.

BTEC qualifications that we offer are Subsidiary Diploma (equivalent to one A Level), 90-Credit Diploma (equivalent to 1½ A Levels) and Diploma (equivalent to two A Levels). They offer natural progression along a vocational path to university.